Some questions about WFN v1

Oct 22, 2016 at 12:32 PM
Edited Oct 22, 2016 at 12:33 PM
Sorry, I am new to WFN v1 and currently evaluating it. I have some questions:

1.) As far as I understand WFN is a special GUI on top of the built-in Windows Firewall.
So when I start it (under 64 bit Win7) then it seems to work.
However my built-in Windows Firewall is currently disabled.
I would have expected that an AddOn GUI like WFN checks whether this is the case or not.
In case the underlying built-in Windows Firewall is disabled a popup should appear similar to:

"Built-in WInFW is disabled. Should I enable it? Otherwiese WFN does not work".

But this is not the case. Why?

2.) When a Notifier popup is shown in the lower left corner then the "advanced" pane is always hidden. How can I tell WFN to always automatically show the "Advanced" pane?

3.) Assume I allowed a certain program (e.g. Firefox) to connect outside to Internet.
Then a new Firefox version is released and replaces the old version in the same directory.

As far as I can see WFN does not detect this upgrade in-place.

Can I somehow tell WFN to show again a prompt to allow the new version?

4.) Occasionally programs do not call their home servers directly but launch a browser (e.g. Firefox) and pass an URL (with possibly secret data (like passwords) hidden in "normal" parameters (like "curtomerID")).

How can I prevent this or let WFN ask for permission?

Whenever a program calls a browser a prompt should appear.

5.) How can I find out if WFN is currently running?

I found no corresponding process in TaskManager and no icon in SysTray.

Peter
Editor
Oct 22, 2016 at 6:44 PM
Hello and thank you for your interest in WFN.
  1. V1 is no longer being updated and everything being done in v2 now. This is a good suggestion and should be done even in v2, though I am not 100% sure if this was ever added, yet. Maybe Daniel (a developer) can add it when he sees this thread.